London’s “Magnificent Seven” refers to what?

Cemeteries – London’s “Magnificent Seven” refers to a ring of garden cemeteries built at the edges of the city in the 19th century. The cemeteries include Abney Park, Highgate, Kensal Green, Brompton, Nunhead, West Norwood, and Tower Hamlets. All were promoted by the government as a response to the overcrowding of graveyards in the city center, which by then were deeply unhygienic and plagued by crime. Sadly, many of the Magnificent Seven became neglected and overrun in the 20th century as families moved away from their late loved ones, but many have undergone recent restorations. Today, they’re peaceful green spaces filled with gorgeous architecture and statuary.

  • Cemeteries
  • Underground lines
  • Rivers
  • Bridges

The correct answer is Cemeteries.

Leave a Comment